1. Welcome to the Brawl website! Feel free to look around our forums. Join our growing community by typing /register in-game!

Lag reduction?

Discussion in 'Survival Games w/ Guns' started by Skilled_Builder, Feb 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Please be aware that this thread is more than 30 days old. Do not post unless the topic can still be discussed. Read more...
  1. Skilled_Builder

    Skilled_Builder Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Ratings:
    +49
    I'm just wondering what other players techniques are to reduce lag on some maps, such as HG town and Snowbound. Of course, with the vollies of bullets shot around during an intense fight, the last thing I want to have is lag, and because of it I am almost sentenced to death. If you can help me, I'd prefer a simple way to fix it, perhaps in mine craft settings. All the options I see or know of either put me at a further disadvantage while playing or don't even work. Can I have some ideas or solutions?
     
  2. SoMuchWinning

    SoMuchWinning Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    6,608
    Ratings:
    +1,566
    Get the OptiFine mod.

    Fun fact: the lower the settings, the bigger the lag will be.
     
  3. Skilled_Builder

    Skilled_Builder Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Ratings:
    +49
    Got another idea? I'm generally lazy with downloads and my mac is barely compatible with any of them for some reason.

    And yes, I've lowered the settings before. Usually it doesn't even work despite a lower render distance or higher performance options in the settings.
     
    #3 Skilled_Builder, Feb 10, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2015
  4. randomcitizen1

    randomcitizen1 The schizophrenic swagmoneymillionaire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,548
    Ratings:
    +2,002
    Don't be LayZ with Optifine m8. I'm pretty sure that it's compatible with Macs and it really helps. Also, (this is kinda difficult to do, but it's worth it.) have you tried allocating more RAM to Minecraft?
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Yorei

    Yorei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,179
    Ratings:
    +712
    VIDEO SETTINGS:
    Graphics: Fast
    Render Distance: Start at 10 and change
    Smooth lighting: Off
    FrameRate: Unlimited:
    Clouds: Off
    Particals: Minimal
    FullScreen: Try it to see if it helps
    VSync: Off
    Mipmap Levels: Test to see the best options
    VBOs: Test to see if it helps

    Optifine: optifine.net/home

    Hope this helped :smile:
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. profbonkars

    profbonkars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    398
    Ratings:
    +171
    Make sure to lower settings and video resolution. If your PC can not handle huge maps at 60FPS and at 1080p, try reducing it slightly until you are getting a smoother FPS. Also, I suggest removing unnecessary options such as setting graphics to "fancy".
     
  7. Yorei

    Yorei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,179
    Ratings:
    +712
    Like random said:
    allocating more RAM to minecraft
    It helped when I went from 8-16G of RAM
     
  8. 18kss

    18kss All is within

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,891
    Ratings:
    +1,910
    Discord:
    18kss#5951
    Optifine works great for me! :smile:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Skilled_Builder

    Skilled_Builder Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Ratings:
    +49
    Thanks guys! I will reply again if it doesn't work.

    Also, Random, I don't even know how to allocate RAM. Macs are too dang annoying to use.
     
  10. Serine1002

    Serine1002 A shadow in the night

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Ratings:
    +879
  11. Dathamier

    Dathamier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,316
    Ratings:
    +390
    I have a serious lag problem on fpsHG, every few seconds everything I do gets really slow for a second or two
    so far, I have always died because of it
    any suggestions on these chronic "waves" of lag? Otherwise it works great
     
  12. Javed

    Javed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,909
    Ratings:
    +370
    Allocating ram is something you can do in your minecraft launcher, but it's not guaranteed to help. Minecraft doesn't use that much ram, and you're probably fine as is. The most I've ever seen it use is around 300 megabytes.

    FPS is a combination of your ram, cpu, hard drive, and graphics card. You should update your graphics drivers if you can, and install Razer Gamebooster if you're on a PC. It kills all non-essential processes, and clears out your cpu for maximum efficiency.

    If you have an old computer, two years is about when your hard drive gets noticeably slower and could need a replacement. You can backup your files to an external hard drive, and replace yours. If you don't want to replace your hard drive, you can defragment it as that often helps.
     
  13. MrWaffleman

    MrWaffleman The negligence of time's end is man's downfall

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,069
    Ratings:
    +646
    "Stuff dat new graphics card in ur computar boi!" Well as stated use Optifine and don't be that lazy. If you stick your mind to it it will come true. Just make the graphics go down in Optifine making it x3 faster.
     
  14. Skilled_Builder

    Skilled_Builder Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Ratings:
    +49
    Ok, I might as well download it when I next get the chance.
     
  15. MrWaffleman

    MrWaffleman The negligence of time's end is man's downfall

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,069
    Ratings:
    +646
    You should try downloading Optifine 1.7 as well as 1.8 since you might need the 1.7 for quite a while until every server updates.
     
  16. iMacro

    iMacro An Essential Meme Maker (^:

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2,556
    Ratings:
    +670
    Buy an AlienWare (or how ever spelt) 1000 Fps all day everyday
     
  17. Phanta

    Phanta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2,690
    Ratings:
    +997
    If, by chance, you're using OpenJDK, switch to official Oracle jre.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Looking for Feedback - Chemist Testing, Flag Carrier Health Reduction Testing, & Upkeeping Capture the Flag Dec 28, 2018
Reduction of Map Size Based on Playercount Ideas Apr 7, 2018
Server Size Reduction? Capture the Flag Mar 19, 2017
Reduction in Servers. Ideas Apr 19, 2015
Knockback reduction Ideas Jan 30, 2015
Thread Status:
Please be aware that this thread is more than 30 days old. Do not post unless the topic can still be discussed. Read more...